Brexit

FLASH:

On 8 November 2021, a second letter was sent by the Director General of the Immigration Office to UK nationals and their family members who have not yet taken steps to safeguard their stay. They are strongly advised to submit their application to the competent commune as soon as possible and before 31 December 2021.

Do not forget to take into account possible delays for making an appointment at your commune.

If you have received this letter but have already submitted your application, you can ignore the letter. 

If you have already applied for the status of beneficiary of the withdrawal agreement for your minor child (-12y), you can ignore this second letter. All minor children have to submit an application for the status of beneficiary of the withdrawal agreement. To this purpose, an application must be submitted with the competent commune (appendix 58). A certificate temporarily covering the stay of the minor child is issued when the application is submitted (annex 56). This certificate covers the stay until a decision is taken, even if no decision has been taken before the end of the application period. Children (-12y) do not receive an M-card but they will receive a children's identity document with a reference to the withdrawal agreement.

You can find the content of this second letter here.

After lengthy negotiations, the Withdrawal Agreement, which sets out the terms of the United Kingdom's withdrawal from the European Union, was finally approved on both sides of the Channel. The United Kingdom left the European Union at midnight on 31 January 2020.

The Withdrawal Agreement provides for a transition period from 1 February 2020 to 31 December 2020. During this period, the European regulatory framework largely continued to be applied and UK nationals and their family members were able to continue to exercise their right to free movement and residence. They did not have to take any further steps to do so.

The purpose of the Withdrawal Agreement is to safeguard the acquired rights of UK nationals and their family members who resided or worked in the European Union as British frontier workers before the end of the transition period.

All UK nationals and their family members who wish to retain their right of residence must apply for a new residence card as beneficiaries of the Withdrawal Agreement, including those who already hold a valid residence document (annex 8, 8bis, E, E+, F, F+ card). British frontier workers who wish to continue their economic activity after the transition period will have to apply for a new local border traffic card as beneficiaries of the Withdrawal Agreement. Even if they already hold a valid local border traffic document (Annex 15).

The application for a residence card as a beneficiary of the Withdrawal Agreement or for a local border traffic card for beneficiaries of the Withdrawal Agreement must be made within the application period  provided for this purpose, which runs from 1 January 2021 to 31 December 2021. Until then, their rights shall be protected.

All UK nationals and their family members residing in Belgium were informed personally by letter of the procedure to be followed to apply at the commune for a new residence card as beneficiaries of the Withdrawal Agreement.

You can find more information on the procedure to follow to obtain a new residence card for beneficiaries of the Withdrawal Agreement or a new local border traffic card for beneficiaries of the Withdrawal Agreement and on the impact of the United Kingdom's departure from the European Union on your stay HERE.

Brexit

FLASH: 

Le 8 novembre 2021, une deuxième lettre a été envoyée par le Directeur Général de l’Office des Étrangers aux ressortissants britanniques et aux membres de leur famille qui n'ont pas encore effectué les démarches nécessaires afin de conserver leur séjour. Il leur est vivement conseillé d’introduire leur demande auprès de la commune compétente le plus vite possible et au plus tard le 31 décembre 2021.

N’oubliez pas de tenir compte des éventuels délais d’attente pour obtenir un rendez-vous auprès de votre commune.

Si vous avez reçu cette lettre alors que vous avez déjà soumis votre demande, vous pouvez l'ignorer. 

Si vous avez déjà introduit une demande pour le statut de bénéficiaire de l’accord de retrait pour votre enfant mineur (-12 ans), vous pouvez ignorer cette deuxième lettre. Une demande doit être introduite pour tous les enfants mineurs  pour obtenir le statut de bénéficiaire de l'accord de retrait. A cet effet, une demande doit être faite auprès de la commune compétente (annexe 58). Un certificat couvrant temporairement le séjour de l'enfant mineur est délivré lors de l’introduction de la demande (annexe 56). Ce certificat couvre le séjour jusqu'à ce qu'une décision soit prise, même si aucune décision n'a été prise avant la fin de la période de demande. Les enfants (-12 ans) ne reçoivent pas de carte M mais ils recevront un certificat d'identité pour enfant avec une référence à l'accord de retrait.

Vous trouverez le contenu de cette lettre ici.

Après de longues négociations, l'accord de retrait, qui fixe les conditions du retrait du Royaume-Uni de l'Union européenne, a finalement été approuvé des deux côtés de la Manche. Le Royaume-Uni a quitté l'Union européenne le 31 janvier 2020 à minuit.

L'accord de retrait prévoit une période transitoire expirant le 31 décembre 2020. Durant cette période, le cadre réglementaire européen restait en grande partie d'application et les ressortissants britanniques et les membres de leur famille pouvaient continuer à exercer leur droit de circuler et de séjourner librement. A cet égard, ils n’ont dû entreprendre aucune démarche supplémentaire.

L'accord de retrait a pour but de préserver, au-delà de la période transitoire, les droits acquis par les ressortissants britanniques et les membres de leur famille qui résidaient dans l'Union européenne avant la fin de cette période transitoire.

Tous les ressortissants britanniques et les membres de leur famille qui souhaitent conserver leur droit de séjour doivent demander une nouvelle carte de séjour en tant que bénéficiaires de l'accord de retrait, même s'ils possèdent déjà une carte de séjour valide (annexe 8, 8bis, carte E, E+, F, F+). Les travailleurs frontaliers britanniques qui souhaitent poursuivre leur activité économique après la période transitoire doivent également demander une nouvelle carte pour petit trafic frontalier pour les bénéficiaires de l'accord de retrait. Et ce, même s'ils sont déjà titulaires d'un document valable pour petit trafic frontalier (annexe 15).

La demande pour une carte de séjour en tant que bénéficiaire de l'accord de retrait ou pour une carte pour petit trafic frontalier pour bénéficiaires de l'accord de retrait doit être introduite endéans la période de demande , qui s’étend du 1er janvier 2021 au 31 décembre 2021. Leurs droits sont protégés jusqu'à cette date.

Tous les ressortissants britanniques et les membres de leur famille résidant en Belgique étaient informés à titre individuel, par courrier, de la procédure à suivre pour introduire une demande de nouvelle carte de séjour auprès de la commune en tant que bénéficiaires de l'accord de retrait.

Vous trouverez ICI  de plus amples informations concernant la procédure à respecter pour obtenir une nouvelle carte de séjour pour bénéficiaires de l'accord de retrait ou une nouvelle carte pour petit trafic frontalier pour bénéficiaires de l'accord de retrait et concernant l'impact du retrait du Royaume-Uni de l'Union européenne.