

Exemptions from the airport transit visa requirement (type A):

The following categories of persons are not required to hold an airport transit visa:

- 1. Holders of a valid C visa or D visa or residence permit issued by a Schengen Member State;
- 2. Holders of a valid residence permit:
 - issued by Bulgaria, Romania, Cyprus or Ireland
 - issued by the Principality of Andorra, Canada, Japan, Republic of San Marino, or the United States, that guarantees unrestricted right of return <u>> The exact list can be found on</u> the second PDF annex of the website of Belgian Immigration Office (Visa type A).
 - issued for one or more of the overseas countries and territories of the Kingdom of the Netherlands (Aruba, Curaçao, Sint-Maarten, Bonaire, Sint-Eustatius and Saba)
- 3. Holders of a valid visa:
 - issued by Bulgaria, Romania, Cyprus or Ireland
 - issued by Canada, the United States or Japan
 - issued for one or more of the overseas countries and territories of the Kingdom of the Netherlands (Aruba, Curaçao, Sint-Maarten, Bonaire, Sint-Eustatius and Saba)
 This each time on condition that they travel to the issuing country or to another third country, or when they are returning from the issuing country, after having used the visa.
- 4. Family Members of EU citizens
- 5. Holders of diplomatic passports
- 6. Flight crew member national of a contracting party to the Chicago Convention on International Civil Aviation.

With effect from 01.01.2021, UK visas or residence permits no longer offer exemption from the transit visa requirement (visa type A).