Exceptions to the visa requirement for persons with refugee status and stateless persons

Persons with refugee status, stateless persons and other persons without any nationality are exempted from the visa requirement if they are in possession of a valid travel document¹ issued by one of the following states:

Belgium Cyprus Denmark Germany Estonia	11. Croatia12. Latvia13. Liechtenstein14. Lithuania15. Grand Duchy of	21. Portugal 22. Slovakia 23. Slovenia 24. Spain 25. Czech Republic
, , ,	1—1 —-1111	
3. Denmark		
4. Germany		
5. Estonia	15. Grand Duchy of	25. Czech Republic
6. Finland	Luxembourg	26. Iceland
7. France	16. Malta	27. Sweden
8. Greece	17. Netherlands	28. Switzerland
9. Hungary	18. Norway	29. Bulgaria
10. Italy	19. Austria	30. Romania
	20. Poland	31. Ireland > See note below

Notes concering Ireland

- The visa exemption for Belgium only applies to Refugees who reside in Ireland with biometric passports. It is not applicable to Stateless persons residing in Ireland.
- Please note that the Irish travel document "Family member of a recognised refugee 1951 UN convention" does not have any visa free value either.

<u>Clarification difference between Refugees and persons who are Subsidiary Protection</u> Beneficiary)

- Recognised refugees must travel with a travel document issued by one of the above mentioned States. They cannot travel on the basis of a travel document issued by their country of origin.
- Beneficiaries of subsidiary protection status keep their national travel document of the country
 of origin. They can travel visa-free if, in addition to this national travel document, they are in
 possession of a residence card listed in the section "Visa-free documents" of this website.

31.03.2024

¹ To verify whether a travel document is recognized, consult http://ec.europa.eu/dgs/home-affairs/what-we-do/policies/borders-and-visas/index_en.htm