FAQ

It is true that only family members of British citizens are protected by the Withdrawal Agreement, and not the (British) family members of a Belgian or Union citizen (not British). If you have been granted an E card as a family member of a Belgian or Union citizen (not British), your situation is not protected under the Withdrawal Agreement.

However, you can apply for an M card in your own name as an economically active citizen (employee, self-employed, job seeker), person in possession of sufficient means of subsistence or student. You will have to prove that you meet the conditions to obtain the status (see procedures). For this reason, you have received a letter from the State Secretary inviting you to apply for an M card.

If you do not want your own status as a beneficiary of the withdrawal agreement but you want to continue to reside in Belgium as a family member of a Belgian or Union citizen, you can still do so on the basis of Union law. However, because you yourself can no longer be considered a Union citizen because of the Brexit, you cannot keep your E card. You must apply for an F card at the municipality. This application will be approved immediately, you do not need to present any further evidence other than your E card.

As a family member of a British beneficiary of the withdrawal agreement who is also British, you can choose to exchange your E card for an M card via the simple procedure. You will then retain your residence on the basis of family reunification and receive your M card (see procedures).

If, however, you prefer to apply for your own status as an economically active citizen (employee, self-employed person, job-seeker), person with sufficient means of subsistence or student, you can of course do so as well. You will then have to prove that you meet the conditions for your own status and your application will first have to be examined by the Immigration Office before it can be approved (see procedures).

The simple procedure can only be followed if you wish to reside in Belgium as a beneficiary of the withdrawal agreement on the same grounds as before the end of the transition period, because these conditions have already been examined in the past. If you wish to reside in Belgium on other grounds, the Immigration Office has to examine whether you all the conditions are met.

In both cases, you will receive an M card. British beneficiaries of the withdrawal agreement with their own right can be joined by their direct family members with whom they already had a family relationship before the end of the transition period (the spouse or assimilated partner, the legal partner, children under 21 years of age or dependent, parents of underage beneficiaries of the withdrawal agreement or who are themselves dependent of the beneficiary of the withdrawal agreement and the de facto permanent partner). Please note that your parents and children can also come and join you when you received the status of beneficiary of the Withdrawal Agreement as the spouse, assimilated partner, legal partner or permanent de facto partner of a British beneficiary. They will have to submit their application on the basis of the status of your British partner and not on the basis of your own status.

If you changed your residence during your stay in Belgium and you did not inform your (new) municipality of this, it is possible that you have been radiated from the register (more info here).

This means that there is an indication that you may have left the country and no longer fulfill the conditions for residing in Belgium. Consequently, when you submit your application for the status of beneficiary of the Withdrawal Agreement, you will have to prove that your absence does not mean you have lost your residence right.  You will have to prove again that you meet the conditions for residence as a beneficiary of the withdrawal agreement. For this reason, you will be asked to follow the procedure for persons who do not have a valid residence card.

If you had a pending application, it will be rejected because you can no longer be considered to be a Union citizen or family member of a Union citizen. Therefore, you cannot obtain a residence on this ground.

This does not mean that you are not eligible for the status of a beneficiary of the Withdrawal Agreement. All British citizens and their family members must submit a new application in order to obtain the status of beneficiary of the Withdrawal Agreement. If you wish to continue your stay in Belgium, you can submit an application as beneficiary of the Withdrawal Agreement. To do so, you must follow the procedure for persons without a valid residence permit (see procedures). You can do this immediately and do not have to wait until your application as a Union citizen or family member of a Union citizen is rejected. When you submit your application, you will be given an annex 56 which covers your stay until a decision has been taken.

Since the end of the transition period (from 1 January 2021), E or F cards can no longer be issued to British citizens (with the exception of British family members of a Belgian or EU citizen) and family members of British citizens respectively as they can no longer be considered to be Union citizens. These cards are reserved for Union citizens and their family members, so they cannot be issued to British citizens and their family members after 1 January 2021.

This does not mean that you are not eligible for the status of beneficiary of the Withdrawal Agreement. All British citizens and their family members must submit a new application to obtain the status of beneficiary of the Withdrawal Agreement. If you wish to continue your stay in Belgium, you can submit an application as beneficiary of the Withdrawal Agreement. For this, you must follow the procedure for persons without a valid residence permit (see procedures). When processing your application, the Immigration Office will take into account that your stay was already approved before the end of the transition period. When you submit your application, you will be given an annex 56 which covers your stay until a decision has been taken.

You cannot apply for a residence status as an employee or self-employed person because your work as a posted worker does not fall under Articles 45 or 49 TFEU but under Article 56 TFEU. However, you may be able to apply for residence in another capacity, as a person with sufficient resources if you have sufficient income, as a family member of a British beneficiary of the Withdrawal Agreement or as a student.

For this reason, if you already had an E card, you can follow the simple procedure to obtain an M card (see procedures). If you did not have an E card yet, you can apply as a person with sufficient means of subsistence, a student or a family member of a British beneficiary. You will then have to prove that you meet the conditions for a stay in one of these capacities (see procedures).

If you were only partially active in Belgium as a posted worker and also worked in Belgium as an employee or as a self-employed person within the meaning of article 45 or 49 TFEU, you can of course also apply as an economically active citizen (see procedures).

Posted workers who did not reside in Belgium before the end of the transitional period may have acquired rights on another ground than their employment. For example as a family member of a British beneficiary, on the basis of which they can apply for an M card, or because they were only partially active in Belgium as a posted worker and also worked in Belgium as an employee or self-employed person within the meaning of article 45 or 49 TFEU. In the latter case, they can apply for an N card on the basis of that other economic activity protected under Article 45 or 49 TFEU.

No, the annex 58 is only valid as an application form that has to be filled in in order to lodge the application.

Annex 56 serves as an attestation. Annex 56 is proof that the application has been lodged and that the holder can benefit from all the rights provided for in the withdrawal agreement while awaiting a decision. Only this attestation can be used in Belgium and when the holder is travelling.

FAQ

Il est vrai que seuls les membres de la famille des Britanniques sont protégés par l'accord de retrait, et non les membres de la famille britannique d'un citoyen belge ou d'un citoyen de l'Union (non britannique). Si vous avez obtenu un statut en tant que membre de la famille d'un citoyen belge ou de l'Union (non britannique), cette situation ne relève pas de l'accord de retrait.

Toutefois, vous pouvez demander une carte M en votre propre nom en tant que citoyen économiquement actif (salarié, indépendant, demandeur d'emploi), personne disposant de moyens de subsistance suffisants ou étudiant. Vous devrez démontrer que vous remplissez les conditions de ce statut (voyez les procédures). C'est pourquoi vous avez également reçu une lettre du secrétaire d'État vous invitant à demander une carte M.

Si vous ne voulez pas obtenir un statut qui est vous est propre en tant que bénéficiaire de l’accord de retrait mais que vous voulez continuer à résider en Belgique en tant que membre de la famille d'un citoyen belge ou de l'Union, vous pouvez toujours le faire sur la base du droit de l'Union. Toutefois, comme vous ne pouvez plus être considéré comme un citoyen de l'Union en raison du Brexit, vous ne pouvez pas conserver votre carte E. Vous devrez demander une carte F à la commune. Cette demande sera approuvée immédiatement, vous n'avez pas besoin de présenter d'autres preuves que votre carte E valide.

En tant que membre de la famille d'un bénéficiaire britannique de l'accord de retrait qui est également un citoyen britannique, vous pouvez choisir d'utiliser la procédure simple pour échanger votre carte E contre une carte M. Vous conserverez alors votre résidence sur la base du regroupement familial et recevrez votre carte M (voyez les procédures).

Toutefois, si vous préférez demander votre propre statut en tant que citoyen économiquement actif (salarié, indépendant, demandeur d'emploi), personne disposant de moyens de subsistance suffisants ou étudiant, vous pouvez bien entendu le faire également. Vous devrez alors démontrer que vous remplissez les conditions d’un de ces statut et votre demande devra d'abord être examinée par l’Office des Étrangers avant d'être approuvée (voyez les procédures).

La procédure simple ne peut être suivie que si vous souhaitez résider en Belgique en tant que bénéficiaire de l’accord de retrait pour les mêmes motifs qu’avant la fin de la période de transition,  car ces conditions ont déjà été examinées par le passé. Si vous souhaitez résider en Belgique sous un autre motif, il faut d'abord examiner si vous remplissez les conditions.

Dans les deux cas, vous recevrez une carte M. Les bénéficiaires britanniques  de l'accord de retrait à titre personnel peuvent être rejoints par les membres de leur famille directe avec lesquels ils avaient déjà un lien de parenté avant la fin de la période transitoire (le conjoint ou le partenaire assimilé, le partenaire légal, les enfants de moins de 21 ans ou à charge, les parents des bénéficiaires mineurs de l’accord de retrait ou qui sont eux-mêmes à charge du bénéficiaire de l'accord de retrait et le partenaire durable de fait). Veuillez noter que vos parents et enfants peuvent également venir vous rejoindre quand  vous avez obtenu le statut  de bénéficiaire de l’accord de retrait en tant que conjoint, partenaire assimilé, partenaire légal ou partenaire durable de fait d'un bénéficiaire britannique. Ils devront présenter leur demande sur la base du statut de votre partenaire britannique et non sur la base de votre statut.

Si vous avez changé de résidence principale pendant votre séjour en Belgique et que vous n'en avez pas informé votre (nouvelle) commune, il est possible que vous ayez été radié d’office (plus d'informations ici).

Cela signifie qu'il y a une indication que vous avez peut-être quitté le pays et que vous ne remplissez plus les conditions pour séjourner en Belgique. Par conséquent, lorsque vous introduirez votre demande pour le statut de bénéficiaire de l’accord de retrait, vous devrez prouver que votre absence n'implique pas que vous ayez perdu votre droit de séjour.  Vous devrez prouver à nouveau que vous remplissez les conditions de séjour en tant que bénéficiaire de l'accord de retrait. C'est pourquoi il vous sera demandé de suivre la procédure pour les personnes qui ne sont pas titulaires d'un permis de séjour en cours de validité.

Si vous aviez une demande en cours, elle sera refusée parce que vous ne pouvez plus être considéré comme citoyen de l'Union ou membre de la famille d'un citoyen de l'Union. Vous ne pouvez pas obtenir de titre de séjour comme citoyen de l’Union ou membre de la famille d’un citoyen de l’Union.

Cela ne signifie pas que vous ne pouvez pas introduire une demande en tant que bénéficiaire de l’accord de retrait. Tous les citoyens britanniques et les membres de leur famille doivent introduire une nouvelle demande pour obtenir le statut de bénéficiaire de l'accord de retrait. Si vous souhaitez poursuivre votre séjour en Belgique, vous pouvez introduire une demande en tant que bénéficiaire de l'accord de retrait. Pour ce faire, vous devez suivre la procédure pour les personnes sans titre de séjour valable (voyez les procédures). Vous pouvez introduire votre demande immédiatement et ne devez pas attendre que votre demande en tant que citoyen de l'Union ou membre de la famille d'un citoyen de l'Union soit rejetée. Lorsque vous introduisez votre demande, vous recevez une annexe 56 qui couvre votre séjour jusqu'à ce qu'une décision soit prise sur votre demande.

Depuis la fin de la période de transition (à partir du 1er janvier 2021), les cartes E ou F ne peuvent plus être délivrées aux ressortissants britanniques (à l’exception des Britanniques qui sont membre de la famille d’un citoyen belge ou UE) et aux membres de la famille de ressortissants britanniques car ils ne peuvent plus être considérés comme des citoyens de l'Union. Ces cartes sont réservées aux citoyens de l'Union, elles ne peuvent donc plus être délivrées après le 1er janvier 2021.

Cela ne signifie pas que vous n'avez pas droit au statut de bénéficiaire de l’accord de retrait. Tous les ressortissants britanniques et les membres de leur famille doivent introduire une nouvelle demande pour obtenir le statut de bénéficiaire de l'accord de retrait. Si vous souhaitez poursuivre votre séjour en Belgique, vous pouvez introduire une demande en tant que bénéficiaire de l'accord de retrait. Pour cela, vous devez suivre la procédure pour les personnes sans titre de séjour valable (voyez les procédures). Lors de l’examen de votre demande, l’Office des Étrangers tiendra compte du fait que votre séjour avait déjà été approuvé avant la fin de la période transitoire. Lorsque vous introduirez votre demande, vous recevrez une annexe 56 qui couvre votre séjour jusqu'à ce qu'une décision soit prise sur votre demande.

Vous ne pouvez pas demander un statut de séjour en tant que salarié ou indépendant parce que votre travail en tant que travailleur détaché ne relève pas des articles 45 ou 49 du TFUE mais de l'article 56 du TFUE. Toutefois, vous pouvez demander le statut de bénéficiaire de l’accord en une autre qualité, en tant que personne disposant de ressources suffisantes si vous avez des revenus suffisants, en tant que membre de la famille d'un bénéficiaire britannique de l'accord de retrait ou en tant qu'étudiant.

C'est pourquoi, si vous aviez déjà une carte E, vous pouvez suivre la procédure simple pour obtenir une carte M (voyez les procédures). Si vous n'avez pas encore de carte E, vous pouvez faire une demande en tant que personne disposant de moyens de subsistance suffisants, en tant qu'étudiant ou en tant que membre de la famille d'un bénéficiaire britannique. Vous devrez prouver que vous remplissez les conditions de séjour pour une de ces qualités (voyez les procédures).

Si vous n'étiez actif en Belgique qu'à temps partiel en tant que travailleur détaché et que vous avez également travaillé en Belgique en tant que salarié ou indépendant au sens de l'article 45 ou 49 du TFUE, vous pouvez bien entendu également introduire une demande en tant que citoyen économiquement actif (voyez les procédures).

Les travailleurs détachés qui ne résidaient pas en Belgique avant la fin de la période transitoire peuvent également avoir acquis des droits pour un autre motif que leur emploi. Par exemple en tant que membre de la famille d'un bénéficiaire britannique de l’accord de retrait, sur base duquel ils peuvent demander une carte M, ou parce qu'ils n'ont été que partiellement actifs en Belgique en tant que détaché et ont également travaillé en Belgique en tant que salarié ou indépendant au sens de l'article 45 ou 49 du TFUE. Dans ce dernier cas, ils peuvent demander une carte N sur la base de cette autre activité économique protégée par les articles 45 ou 49 du TFUE.